Fork me on GitHub

Contents

About

The Workbench plugin is an extension that makes it possible to manage multiple projects in geany. You can add geany projects to a workbench. From there you can add directories to the project to manage the files belonging to the project.

Usage

Enabling the plugin

The plugin can be enabled in the plugin manager. After enabling the plugin a new tab will be displayed in the Sidebar. There will also be a new entry in the "Tools" menu. Both are labeled "Workbench".

The Workbench menu

The Workbench menu is the starting point for creating your first workbench. Choose "New" from the menu to create your workbench file. Workbench files use the prefix ".geanywb". Just like Geany project files they are also simple text files containing key-value pairs.

The complete managment of the Workbench file is done using the Workbench menu:

Item "New"
As explained above, creates a new Workbench.
Item "Open"
Open a Workbench.
Item "Save"
Save the opened Workbench. This "only" saves any changes in the Workbench file. It does not save any changes of the projects belonging to the Workbench.
Item "Settings"
Open the Workbench settings dialog.
Item "Close"
Closes the opened Workbench.

The new Workbench

A newly created Workbench is completely empty. In the Workbench tab of the sidebar you should see the hint "Add a project using the context menu". Anything which is dealing with projects and their Workbench related settings is done using the context menu on the sidebar. Some items in the context menu will only be active if you right click inside a project, directory or bookmark.

The Workbench context menu:

These are the available items:

Add project
Add an existing Geany project to the Workbench. Create your projects with Geany. The Workbench plugin does not help you with that. After adding a project you need to save the workbench settings by selecting "Workbench / Save" in the menubar.
Save project
Selecting this item will save the Workbench related project settings in the Geany project file. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project. It will only save the settings of the project that you clicked on.
Remove project
Remove the project from the Workbench. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project. After removing a project you need to save the workbench settings by selecting "Workbench / Save" in the menubar.
Fold/unfold project
Fold or unfold the items belonging to the project. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project.
Add directory
Add a directory to the project. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project. After selecting it a dialog will be opened. Chosse the directory which shall be added. After that the directory will be shown inside the project folder. After adding a new directory, all files and folders beneath the directory will be displayed. See "Directory settings" for more information.
Remove directory
Remove the directory from the project. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project directory.
Rescan directory
Rescan the directory for files and update the sidebar accordingly. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project directory. If the content of a directory changes, e.g. a new file is added, then the new file will only be visible in the sidebar after a rescan.
Directory settings
Select this item to change the directory settings. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a project directory. In the directory settings you can set a filter which controls the files and folders that shall be displayed or not.
Fold/unfold directory
Fold or unfold the items belonging to the directory. It is only available if you right clicked inside of a directory.
Unfold All
Select this item to unfold all projects, directories and folders.
Collapse All
Select this item to collpase/fold all projects, directories and folders.
Add to Workbench Bookmarks
Add the file to the Workbench Bookmarks. It is only available if you right clicked on a file. After adding a file to the Workbench bookmarks a ribbon will be shown for the file in the Workbench sidebar tab in front of the first project. Clicking on it will open the file. Workbench bookmarks give you quick access to files which you often need.
Add to Project Bookmarks
Add the file to the Project Bookmarks. It is only available if you right clicked on a file. After adding a file to the Project bookmarks a ribbon will be shown for the file in the Workbench sidebar tab in front of the first directory of the project. Clicking on it will open the file. Project bookmarks give you quick access to files which you often need in that project.
Remove from Bookmarks
Remove file from the Workbench or project bookmarks. It is only available if you right clicked on a bookmark.

Known issues

None.

License

The Workbench plugin is distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or (at your option) any later version. A copy of this license can be found in the file COPYING included with the source code of this program.

Downloads

The Workbench plugin is part of the combined Geany Plugins release. For more information and downloads, please visit //plugins.geany.org/geany-plugins/

Development Code

Get the code from:

git clone https://github.com/geany/geany-plugins.git

Ideas, questions, patches and bug reports

Please post any ideas, feature requests, questions and bugs in the github issue tracker.

Docs for previous versions